UPDATE-Tim


I heard back from Tim today! This is what he wrote:

Just got the messages. I don’t check this part of Facebook. I have two years of messages!

How have you been and what are you up to? I just cracked a rib, and I don’t recommend it. It only hurts when I breath.

No offense intended in not responding. I have enough trouble keeping up with email. But I’ll try to check it. Fill me in on what you have been doing.

I sent him this message in return:

So glad to hear from you! I figured that’s what it was but just wanted to check. How did you crack it? If it was a drill kicking back and hitting you that would be really ironic.

Rob and I are still married (yay) and have been for 3 years. We live in a tiny little town called Tipp City, where it turns out I go to the same gym as Yoder. It was so weird to see him in shorts. Rob just graduated with his Bachelor’s degree in early July and we went to Pigeon Forge (aka Hillbilly Vegas) with his side of the family.

We’ve been trying to start a family for just over 2 years. Last year we got pregnant but lost the baby. We have been trying since then and have just recently started fertility treatments, so we will see how that goes.

Pet-wise we have 2 cats. Amelia is my grumpy little tabby and Gus is Rob’s giant fluffy idiot. We had to put my 15yo dog to sleep in February which was of course awful, but he had a good long life.

Other than that we haven’t been up to too much.

What about you guys? I saw you got some more doggies! How is the university treating you? Do you still get up to Witt North? Is it still called that? And is that Betty in your profile picture? I thought you mentioned she passed away, but I could be wrong.

If it’s easier to email, feel free to do that. I understand you’re busy, so whenever you get a chance to chat would be great!

As I was writing my return message I realized that I wasn’t ready to completely reveal myself. He used to be one of my best friends, and I can see, over time, becoming close again, but we’re just not there yet. I do want to tell him about how bad the PTSD has gotten, how my priorities have changed, and who I am today, but I don’t feel comfortable revealing that much. I think I need to ease back into this. I can’t bear my soul to someone I haven’t spoken to in over 2 years. I still want to believe that he is the same person I became friends with, but part of me is terrified that he won’t accept who I am. That he’ll feel like I’ve changed into a person he doesn’t want to know. But at least this is a good start. We’re talking again! I was so scared to send him that message the other day, but now I am so glad that I did. Knowing is always better.

I would love to hear from you. Please comment!

